top of page

NEW PERSONAL BEST!


Yesterday morning I decided to load up and go fishing at Wood Creek Lake, I thought about my game plan on the drive down and figured out my launch site and my target areas. We had a bunch of high winds and rain coming in within the next couple of hours so I decided to stay close to my launch site and vehicle. The last time I fished the area I caught a nice bass off the side of a dock that was right across the lake from me, I made that my go-to right now and cast area.

The wind started picking up so I paddled over to the dock and made a cast. On my second cast I felt a little pressure on the rod. I set the hook and was amazed at the big bass connected to my Z-Mans Original Chatterbait. I landed the bass in the kayak and I was extremely happy as I had just caught the biggest bass of my life!, I took the length of the fish as most kayak bass fisherman do and then I pulled out my scales and weighed it. The length was 21.25 inches long and weighed 5 lbs 5 oz.

After the release I continued fishing and the rain moved in heavy. I broke out my Frogg Toggs ultra light rain suit and fished for about 2 more hours not catching anything. I finally gave up and paddled back to my Jeep and loaded everything up and left for home.

The lake I was at is called Wood Creek Lake it held the Kentucky state record Largemouth Bass at a little over 13 Lbs. It has some good fishing spots and a variety of fish species including Spoon Bill, Perch, Carp and Catfish.

Since I am a YouTube creator I have the video up on my channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/kentuckyfisherman

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page